top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesscc-scotland

ScamWatch - Computeractive reader warns readers of British Gas scam


" I'm a British Gas customer so I wasn't surprised to receive an email that claimed to be a bill from the company. It looked very convincing, with the British Gas logo, and with the correct subject line seeming plausible too : 'Your summer gas & electricity bill'. It told me how much I owed and when to pay it by. Fortunately, I'd already paid my bill, so I guessed the email was a scam. I found a news story about it saying worried customers should ring (0800 048 0202) or email (phishing@centrica.com) British Gas to check whether emails are genuine ".

Ref: Computeractive - reader post by Sandra Goodwin


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Another text scam received

Another text scam received this time purporting to be from Natwest: "Your internet Banking has been disabled for security reasons. To unlock your account please visit the secure link: http://91.xxx.xx

bottom of page